Most states have laws outlining the basic auto insurance coverage necessary to drive within the law. But, is minimum auto insurance coverage enough? As penalties for having no auto insurance are getting more severe, it is important to understand the law if you intend to operate a vehicle in the states of New Jersey, New York or Connecticut.
The state of New Jersey has mandated that a “Basic Policy” be available to all drivers in the state. Some of the more important features of this basic policy include:
Bodily Injury Liability – Not included, but up to $10,000 can be purchased as an option.
Property Damage Liability – Maximum of $5,000 per accident
Personal Injury Protection – Maximum of $15,000 per person, per accident
Uninsured Motorist – Not available
Collision – Not included, but may be available as an option
Comprehensive – Not included, but may be available as an option
A complete description of the required minimum auto insurance coverage in New Jersey can be found on the State of New Jersey – Department of Banking & Insurance website.
If your vehicle is registered in the state of New York, you are required to have auto liability insurance. If you do not have liability insurance, you are required to surrender your vehicle plates to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (NYSDMV) immediately. The minimum liability requirements include:
Bodily Injury Liability – $25,000/$50,000 for each injury and $50,000/$100,000 for death.
Property Damage Liability – $10,000 for any one accident
More information can be found on the NYSDMV website referenced above.
To drive legally in the state of Connecticut, you must have a minimum of liability insurance coverage, including:
Bodily Injury Liability – $20,000 per person per accident and $40,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability – $10,000 per accident
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist – $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
A more detailed description of Connecticut auto insurance can be found on the Connecticut Insurance Department website.
Even though these minimum auto insurance requirements keep you legal, if your auto insurance coverage and limits are exhausted by a covered loss, you could be personally responsible for any remaining bills not paid by your insurance. Without even considering the fact that your own personal vehicle is not covered by these minimum limits, consider the type of vehicle you may damage or destroy in an accident. If your actions cause damage to a high-end luxury vehicle and you only have $10,000 in property damage coverage, you could be personally responsible for $20,000 or more out of your pocket. Before you even consider minimum coverage, please contact your local agent.
Strategic Insurance Agency’s ability to procure insurance from over 200 companies not only guarantees that we will find the carrier best suited for your needs, but also, that you are receiving the most cost-efficient policy as well. Please feel free to contact us to see the Strategic difference.